Featured Artist – Denise Moser

Denise 2

Songs were my first love. For as far back as I can remember, songs have reached into the depths of my heart. They have walked beside me, and have become dear, treasured companions. My mom always referred to my favorite songwriters (Joni Mitchell, James Taylor, Cat Stevens, Jackson Browne, Kate Bush…) as my friends, and although I have never met most of them, they are.

I just released a new CD called Here Right Now! It is available on CD Baby, iTunes and Amazon, and I always have a few in my pocketbook…  I am proud to report that tracks from it have been played on various traditional and Internet radio stations, including WXPN in Philadelphia.

In response to Here Right Now, No Depression’s website called me “the Norman Rockwell songwriter!” They also said  “You know she is telling the truth with every chord she plays. Her lyrics are well thought out – poetry in that early Joni Mitchell style.”  (The full review can be found at http://www.nodepression.com/profiles/blogs/denise-moser-here-right-now-wheat-penny-records.)

My intention as a songwriter is to tell the unflinching truth (but not always the facts) and to touch people’s kindred places – to create bridges from heart to heart. Sometimes the truth is tender. Sometimes it is playful. Sometimes it surprises me. Songs are created and crafted, but they are also mysterious, and it often seems like they have always existed whole, just waiting to be unearthed… That is the magic!

I have been sharing my writing tools, and helping other people to access their stories, in a workshop called Painting With Words. It is designed to cultivate a playful mind and a moving hand.  It is designed for anyone who wants to play with words, and it has been great fun!

Songs from my first CD, Bright Side Up, were played on over eighty radio stations, and I was honored to be invited to play live on WXPN several times. They even included a version of my song Teddy on one of their compilations.

I am also the Cantorial Singer at Beth Chaim Reform Congregation in Malvern, Pennsylvania. That part of my life continues to teach me the power of music to touch souls, to heal, and to enhance spiritual journeys. It is a privilege…

Visit my website: http://denisemosermusic.com/denisemoser.cfm

Leave a Reply

