An update from Gongle

Hello everyone

I just wanted to share some very exciting news with you from our friend – and a previous hidden gem – Caitlin Grey.  I am going to copy her newsletter here for you to read, I hope you will all get behind the lovely lady and support her new venture:-)

Hello my lovelies!

YAY….WOOHOO!!! Well here it is as promised…the BIG news about my new venture that I mentioned to you the last time I wrote. Stay with me folks, this one’s a bit longwinded!


This is ‘Sapphire’…my sanctuary, my home, my inspiration. Indeed, she really is the inspiration behind the name of my brand new company that I’m launching with my co-writer Neil today. YAY!!!

Are you excited? I know I am! I’ve been chomping at the bit to tell you all about it.

A bit of background…..

Now, if you’ve been reading my posts for a while, you’ll know that I sold my house a couple of years ago and moved onto a narrow boat, in order to pursue my dream of making music. So far, it’s been fantastic and I couldn’t be happier with my decision. Great stuff has happened… I’ve released my second album The Promise after a very long wait, even sold a few copies (THANKYOU!), had some fab radio play, some amazing reviews, some wonderful gigs and met (in real life & virtually) some incredible new friends…..you know who you are! None of this would have been possible if I’d stayed where I was. However, as you know, the life of an independent artist is very much a case of feast or famine (generally more famine than feast!) and a regular income is something unheard of really. So, for about a year or so, Neil & I have been scratching our heads wondering how we could ‘up the anti’, financially speaking, because I’m getting blisters standing in the pasta aisle of supermarkets demonstrating ‘Uncle Ben’s Sizzle & Stir’!
Something needed to be done!    Then we had a light bulb moment and came up with a fab way to enable us to continue making music for you all (more albums both Celtic & otherwise!) and make a proper living….making music. FINGERS CROSSED!

Hence my new venture!
I say new as it’s a new company, new website and new ideas, but actually it’s something both Neil and I have been doing now and again for many years, but only when the opportunity arose or someone asked us to write something. This time though, we’ve been pro-active, pooling our creative resources and savings and we’ve actually formed a company. Ooh!
May I present to you… (drum roll please)… Ta DAH!!!!

Say what??? Yes, we’ve launched an online music library creating both royalty free and custom music for sync licensing. What the dickens I hear you cry!

For those of you who haven’t a Scooby doo (clue!) what I’m talking about…I’ll explain. When a piece of music or a song is used in a film, ad, video, podcast etc., this is called synchronisation, as the music is ‘synced up’ to the moving image. To use music in this way generally costs much more than just buying it as a single track for personal use and it needs a special licence with, quite often, permission from the composer. Most music for soundtrack use has to be paid for in advance and then royalties are also paid in a residual manner.
Royalty free music is simply music that is purchased in the same way, but without the on-going royalty payments. So, royalty free music doesn’t mean free music, it just means that the music is paid for only once, upfront, with no other fees. Royalty free music if often used by folks who have limited budgets so it’s perfect for students, small businesses and independent media companies or podcast hosts. Licences to use these sorts of tracks are generally priced at anything from $10 to $100. For TV & film, it’s much more. We’ve set our price at a jolly reasonable rate so anyone can afford to get their project going with some super music for soundtracks. Custom music is exactly what it says on the tin…music written (by us!) for a specific project. Am I making sense? Think I need a cup of tea now……where are the biscuits…..*mutters incoherently*……

I’m back…with tea!
So, why a music library?

As Neil and I have written heaps of music over the years of all kinds, it seemed a really good idea to put it all online, making it available for anyone to license for use in media projects.  So we did…and Sapphire Music Productions was born!
Once we’d collated all the music we’d written, I locked Neil in the bunker…er, studio with a month’s supply of ginger biscuits and he set about mixing, mastering and generally working his magic on all the tracks. As you can imagine, all this takes time, so we’ve decided to go ahead and launch with the bare minimum number of tracks. To be honest, I was too excited to wait any longer. We fashioned the music into a coherent catalogue which we’ll be adding to every week until there are lots of tracks available in every conceivable genre. Of course, this means that poor Neil is still beavering away at the music (I wonder if he’s eaten all the biccies yet?) while my voice has been on holiday (pesky flu!). For my part, I’ve designed a new website…..I know, get me eh? Actually, I used Bandzoogle. It’s fairly idiot proof.. let’s face it, it needs to be with me around!
Just to let you know, the music is mostly instrumental but we will be adding vocal tracks along the way, as we develop the site. SO EXCITING!!!Click here to Browse the new site and listen to some tracks.

LOVELY NEW FREE TRACK AND Breath of Heavenagain!

You….my newsletter chums, far and near, are very dear to me. In fact, you’re a very special bunch indeed and I wanted to do something spiffy for you in celebration of the new Sapphire Music Productions launch. So, I’ve chosen a rather nice chill-out ambient track, Sky Blue Dreams from our small but growing selection for you to download FREE! It comes with a Standard Royalty Free licence, so it’s ready to use as a soundtrack straight away. Some of you may have a professional use for it, ie. the music is perfect for lots of projects from corporate videos, podcasts, On-Hold music & YouTube videos to student films & gaming videos…all sorts. So, if you have a project or know someone who needs music, here’s your opportunity to grab a FREE track.
Click here to download Sky Blue Dreams
Click here to download your Standard Royalty Free licence.I have also put a link to my version of Breath of Heaven…again for anyone who doesn’t have it already, or as a pressie for someone else!
Click here to download Breath of Heaven
Also, if you have a minute or so, do have a look around the new site and check out the music.
www.sapphiremusicproductions.com

Click here to browse the tracks.

I would be absolutely thrilled & so incredibly grateful if you would help spread the word about the new venture by sharing the new site on your social media pages and so forth. That would be a huge help in getting the word out there. Ooh.. on that note, we’ve got new social media accounts too….yay!
I’d love you to follow Sapphire on Twitter here- @Sapphire_MProds
Maybe you might like to subscribe to Sapphire on YouTube here- Sapphire Music TV

Tell me what you think!

I would dearly love to hear your thoughts on the new venture, what you think of the website, the name etc?  I’m truly excited by it and I hope you are too? You know, none of this would be possible without you and your unflinching support…you give me faith & hope & love! Do drop me a line by replying to this email and let me know. You know I love hearing from you.

Plans for the future

If Sapphire Music does well….’Of course it will!???….our hope is that in time, this will generate a good income, enabling us to carry on with all our other music…our songs and videos (fret not, I’ve not forgotten the Boat Sessions!). I’ve chosen some of the song ideas you sent in to record when I can get some studio time. Fingers crossed!
In terms of Sapphire Music, in the not too distant future, the next step will also be to invite other composers to join the Sapphire Music site, giving a credible, safe platform for artists to (hopefully) make a bit of money from compositions that might otherwise never see the light of day!
We’ll also be offering the entire ‘Caitlin Grey’ catalogue for licensing, although this won’t be royalty free.

One more thing……

There is one more thing to add here. I generally don’t talk about my other half ‘B’, as he’s quite shy, very private and not in the music business but, on this occasion, I couldn’t leave him out of the proceedings. He has been incredibly supportive of my madcap life, my bonkers ideas and passion for my music. Quite simply, without his faith in me and his support, in all respects, my dreams would be just that…pipe dreams…without any real hope of coming true. So I want to thank him from the bottom of my heart.

Until next time….
Much love,
Your friend in music, Caitlin XXXX

PS. Call of the Clans blog coming next newsletter.)

PPS. I’d love to carry on sending you the odd newsletter with exclusive music release updates, freebies and spiffy stuff, but if you don’t want to hear from me again…no problem at all, just click on unsubscribe and it’s done!

 

Leave a Reply

